How TO and NOT TO build a vegetable garden

So this is where we’re gonna play another game of – What Not to Do-
Greg and I decided we have this large concrete pad, lets build a 4′ x 4’x by 3.5′ tall Vegetable Garden. It will cover the concrete remnants and be subjected to lots of sunlight. – Sweet –  {Spoiler Alert.. it wasn’t}

Raised Vegetable Garden Disaster

Since I’ve already spoiled the ending below is a photo collage of the construction:
Fence boards kreg jig-ed together for the sides:

Kreg Jig Raised Vegetable Garden Sides

While Greg did all that I stenciled the sides with an awesome logo by using a razor knife, a permanent marker, and some tape.

Stenciling Vegetable Garden

In Process Stenciling Vegetable Garden

Vegetables

As I stenciled the logo, Greg was hard at work constructing our 4′ x 4′ monster vegetable garden.

vegetable garden in proces

raised vegetable garden in process

Raised Vegetable Garden Tutorial

While we can lets enjoy the few other beauty shots I have of this large vegetable box that is no more..

Our Home Place Vegetable Garden Box

Vegetable Garden Box

Before- DIY Raised Vegetable Garden Box

DIY Raised Vegetable Garden Box

So beautiful.. over memorial day weekend we loaded 279045903 lbs of Top Soil, Vegetable Soil and soon afterwards I over packed it with lots of vegetable seeds and seelings including: Tomatoes, Green Bell Peppers, Hot Peppers, Banana Peppers, Zucchini, Squash and Green Beans..

And then after 2 weeks of straight rain in the begining of June there was a splat.. Which my brother found so funny he caught pictures of me as I threw my temper tantrum.. mixed with complete laughter at our silly FAIL.

DIY Garden Box Epic Fail

DIY Pinterest Garden Box Fail

And here we are again.. Greg scratching his head as we discuss all the FAIL reasons in our GENIUS idea.

Vegetable Garden Box

If you follow me on instagram.. you may have also seen what else Greg and I also scrambled to get done before we left on vacation for a week. On top of my peeling closet seen here..  <<talk about worlds best husband nominee>>



Leave a comment